Skip to content

Playing Twilight Princess the way it was meant to be played.

October 25, 2006
by

This isn’t really news, but something I’d been thinking about for a while…

Call me a controversy whore but I don’t think that playing ZeldaTP (Twilight Princess) will be that much more satisfying on the Wii. There was a bit of an uproar when the (already proven inaccurate) news leaked out that ZeldaTP would no longer be released for Gamecube, and frankly I was a part of that.

I love my gamecube (and my PS2), and I’ve stuck with it despite the system’s shortcomings, and to take away what was arguably the most anticipated gamecube title ever and force people to buy a Wii to play it just seemed…unfair. The title had been in the making so long that it already looked like Nintendo was gonna pull a Duke Nukem Forever on us, and just when it was within reach…they were gonna take it away.

The game’s done, for chrissakes. They only extended it to make it a launch title for the Wii and slap on some motion sensing controls. Controls and improved visuals. Now we all know that no matter how amped up those visuals are, they won’t be next gen enough to really make us sit up and say “woah”, so what’s the point? The controls, while I haven’t tested them, don’t really excite me as much as the idea did when I first heard of it. Flicking my wrist to slash at an enemy or motioning to throw the boomerang might be fun the first few times, but eventually I know I’ll start wishing that I could just push a fucking button. Supposedly, the fishing mini-game is where it really starts to get fun using the Wiimote and nunchuk, but if I wanted that then I’d just wait for the first full blown fishing game for Wii.

The point is that I don’t think it’s worth it to buy the Wii just to play ZeldaTP.

The natural question might be, what kind of Zelda game would be worth getting a Wii for? Well, imagine a Zelda game where if you flicked high, Zelda would slash upwards, if you flicked low, he’d slash at an enemy’s legs, and vice versa for his shield. Imagine a Zelda where when you mimic the movement of slapping your horse’s rump, he’d gallop faster in the game. Something like that would make me get a Wii.

I’m with Luke Smith here, I’m gonna buy the gamecube version and enjoy it on my gamecube, the way it was really intended to be played.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. frisby permalink
    October 26, 2006 12:30 am

    I 100% agree with you. Rollin and I where just dicusing this. Wind Waker had amazing control and I was ver excited to hear they where using the sameconroller lay out for the TP. No matter how much work they put into it, TP on Wii will always be rigged to fit the controls scheme. Contol is all the player has to interact with, so naturally the game should be built around the controller, not the other way around.

    Fact: All computer games with controls retro fitted to run on a console are better on pc than the console version.

  2. October 29, 2006 9:59 pm

    I can’t agree with you more; I even made an entry a while back about it:

    http://lithcast.com/files/dissenter-1.html

  3. Chugaboy permalink
    October 30, 2006 12:47 am

    “The controls, while I haven’t tested them, don’t really excite me as much as the idea did when I first heard of it.”

    I can see where you’re coming from. But I’m honestly done with just mashing buttons and want to be more interactive with my games.

    You could be right. You could be wrong. Either way I think everyones is just happy a new Zelda game is out. If you get a chance to play it both formats I’d like to see your discoveries. I’ll check back 🙂

  4. October 30, 2006 2:37 am

    I really don’t care about it. Zelda will be Zelda. I don’t think Wii controls would detract so much from it, and it would prob be a bonus, but i don’t give a damn about the game right now and i care less about which version i play. I know that neither one is gonna be superior or inferior to the other. I don’t mind parrying attacks with gestures, and i don’t care if i press a button at the right time instead (it was fun in Wind Waker, so hey). Play it however you can.

    And just to be ironic, i’ma play the Cube version on Wii with a Classic controller.

  5. frisby permalink
    October 30, 2006 2:42 am

    “And just to be ironic, i’ma play the Cube version on Wii with a Classic controller.”

    I plan to also. How ironic indeed.

  6. October 30, 2006 5:26 am

    “Well, imagine a Zelda game where if you flicked high, Zelda would slash upwards, if you flicked low, he’d slash at an enemy’s legs”

    Um… I know this is a typo, but dude…

  7. October 30, 2006 1:00 pm

    Maybe Ryan knows something we don’t…? Don’t spoil my trannie Zelda plot twist.

Leave a Reply

