Skip to content

Wii has been bitten by a rattle snake

September 30, 2006

350px-c64c_system.jpg

Soooooo. I was a big a Genesis kid, not a SNES kid, so I related really hardcore to the whole “Sega on Virtual Console” thing, especially since Sega basically started selling classics bundled together, it really made no diffrence. I never even heard of a TurboGrafx before this year and most of the Nintendo games I would buy for the VC I already own the original and they still run properly.

So now the VC brings back to good old 5 1/2 inch floppy games you all know and love, the Commodore 64 games. This is kind of cool news to me since I had a C64 and played California Games for about 100 hours of my life. I could hack with the best of ’em in front of Alcatraz, but had no skill in surfing.

I’m not sure if Oregon Trail is actually a C64 game, but god knows I want to play it again and kill 1200 pounds of meat and only carry about 50 back to camp (the real American way). The main reason I want these games is because…you really can’t play them unless you get an emulator. I have a bunch of old games on 3 1/2 inch floppies that make XP crash just trying to think about running them.
So does Nintendo have no shame??? Hell no! they are just making up for all the 3rd parties they flipped off back in the day and going one step further with nostalgia beyond NES.

I only hope the wiimote will play the sound effect of the C64 running like my Durango going up a hill on cruise control…you know vrooooOOOOOMMMMMMM!!!!!

Because with out the loud ass processor bleeding out the cheesy tones, it’s not really C64.

I am Colonel Chuck Frisby, and the truth may piss you off

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2006 3:42 am

    They’re 1st parties btw, but this is the the first i hear of it. Commodore. Cool(?).

    I hear what you’re sayin, but goddangit, the only VC game that can make me erect is a wifi multiplayer-enabled Turtles In Time!

    [Edit: I just got the heading.]

  2. frisby permalink
    September 30, 2006 2:16 pm

    Well I was not implying the C64 games where 3 third party, I was saying they are making up for not maving a big library (by not including 3rd parties) on the last two consols and they are trying to make uf for it by buying up games from companies thay died off before the 90’s even hit.

    Basically Nintendo is like a hungry hungry hippo eating all of the old games companies they killed off back in the day.

  3. September 30, 2006 4:49 pm

    Ohhh, i see. I thought you meant outside companies during NES.

Leave a Reply

